c25k day 1

I’ve always wanted to be a runner. I remember middle school, positively HATING Fridays when we had to run “the mile.” It seemed like death, running a WHOLE MILE. I was always one of the last to finish, and I always walked most of it. But I also remember, underneath all of that, wishing I could love it. I remember wishing I could just run through the stress of whatever stupid middle school drama I’d dealt with that day (like the entire science class gathering around to make fun of me – story for another day). I knew, somehow, that running was something I was meant to love… I just had to get there.

That was over ten years ago, and did I ever pick up running? Of course not. I’ve tried, a few times, but it’s never stuck. I’ve had boyfriends agree to start start running with me, I’ve had friends plan a running regimen that ended in little more than a walk to the store. I could go an hour on the elliptical machine, but running made me feel like I was on the verge of death.

Until today. I decided a few months ago to try a Couch to 5k program. I printed off instructions and carried them in my purse for months. I threw them away. When 2010 rolled around, amidst a number of changes in my life, I decided to give it a go – for real.

Today was day one. 5 minute walk to warm up. 60 seconds of jogging. 90 seconds of running. Repeat for twenty minutes. Never once did I get that “I’m going to die RIGHT NOW” feeling. Never once did I walk when I should’ve been running.

And after my twenty minutes of alternating were up? I decided to walk five more minutes, to cool down. I ended up running more… because I wanted to.

It’s not much, but it’s a start, and I’m pretty damn pleased with myself. And I look forward to a couple months from now, when I can report that I’ve run a 5k. And that I liked it.

3 thoughts on “c25k day 1

  1. Good for you!

    I’ve always wished I was good at running and could get that runner’s high that everyone talks about. I’ve attempted it a few times and haven’t kept up with it at all. The “couch to 5k” program sounds like an awesome idea…that might work for someone like me! For now, though, I just got a Wii Fit so I have no excuse not to work out.

  2. Haha, I’m confused on the directions. On day ONE, you had to jog for an hour and RUN for an half and a half? Seriously? An alternate for 20 minutes? Hum.

Leave a Reply

