Sometimes I…

[idea stolen from Mandy of Knowing The Difference]

Sometimes I realize, totally out of nowhere, how amazing I really am and how far I’ve come. It’s a pretty strange feeling, and I certainly don’t want to come off as a braggart, but I’m pretty proud of myself for getting here.

Sometimes I feel like I’m not doing enough in the fight against cancer or the fight to raise awareness of hereditary breast and ovarian cancer. I don’t know why I feel like it’s my responsibility to do so, necessarily, but I know it’ll happen eventually. Right now, I’m not ready for my identity to be taken over by BRCA and I’m only slowly “coming out” about my BRCA status.

Sometimes I really, really wish my boyfriend didn’t live 1,700 miles away. Then again, I’m stoked that he’s going to live 45 miles away in a matter of weeks!

Sometimes I spend half my day lazing about, catching up on my DVR (and being excited that it’s down to being 59% full!), eating pita pizzas, and trying on new clothes. And I don’t feel the least bit guilty about it!

Sometimes I feel frustrated at my lack of a social life. It’s SO hard to make friends here. I have this idea that in “normal” places, people say “I just went to this really cool yoga class. You’d love it – let’s go together next time!” Here, people say “I just went to this really cool yoga class. You’d love it. You should go sometime!” with the implication being “you should go by yourself.”

Sometimes I think I’m turning out to be somewhat good at my new job, but I don’t want to jinx anything by getting too comfortable with that thought.

Sometimes I want to get married – sooner rather than later. Who am I?!

Your turn! Fill it in: Sometimes I __________.

7 thoughts on “Sometimes I…

  1. OHMYGOD! Krys, you sound exactly like me. If you don’t believe me, you should ask my boyfriend. He will tell you. But I guess, I am just going to write this post today and then you will see. I have moved to a new city in India, and I constantly complain about having no friends and having nothing to do! I also work from home, so outside interaction is almost nil. My boyfriend is in America and pine for him like crazy! I am counting days (155 days and 17 hrs) till I see him again. And I spend a better part of my day just lazing! I am also pretty darn good at my job, my boss loves me, but somehow I hope I don’t get too comfortable and complacent, etc.

    Wow…! I am not kidding…! So is this spookily similar, or plain stupid, because that’s how everyone’s life is?

    • haha, that’s crazy! We are pretty similar! And 155 days, wow! My boyfriend is in the military, and when we first started dating we went… I think around 130 days apart. NOT fun (but admittedly, it did end up flying by!).

      I’m glad that I work in an office where I’m around people all day – if not for that, I’d have no social interaction at all most of the time!

  2. Sometimes I’m really frustrated with my lack of social life as well, but I’ve been blessed with a husband earlier than I expected so I always have someone to spend time with.
    Sometimes I’m upset at myself for not working out more, though I have a good metabolism so it’s not much of a problem–hence the lack of motivation.

    I’m going to an aerial dance class that I love! You should come with me sometime! Though the problem is that you have to take an intro class, blah blah blah. But still. I’m putting it out there.

    • Oooh, where do you take the class? I’d love to come sometime! I’ll have to look into the intro class and whatnot first, I suppose. 🙂

      • It’s at Versatile Arts in Greenwood, there’s a couple other studios in the area. One in West Seattle and SoDo too. It’s super good times and you learn you had muscles you never knew you had!

  3. I *just* got an email today announcing the next intro class. It starts on Aug 8th at Versatile Arts. I can email you the details if you’d like, if you really want to do it then sign up ASAP since they fill up in like…a week.

    • I think I found their website but if you want to email me details that’d be awesome – just send to eatthissoup@gmail.com. 🙂 Also, are the classes super hard?! haha. Just want to make sure I’m not getting into something crazy! 😉

Leave a Reply

