run like the wind!

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before (ha), but I hate exercise. I really do not dig it. I get bored, I hate getting sweaty (and I hate what it does to my skin), and I hate feeling like I’m two seconds away from certain death.

Back in January, I decided to try the Couch to 5k plan. That lasted until week 7, when I decided to take a break and use the elliptical for the week. Then BRCA-mania hit, and I was too sad to live, let alone work out… and I gave up completely.

Not long ago, I decided to get back into running. I don’t know what my obsession with running is, but it’s there and I’ve got to stick it out and see where I can take it. I’ve made my own plan, sort of: adding .25 miles per week. I try for three days a week, which is harder than it sounds when you work 50+ hours and suddenly have a crazy-busy life.

On Friday, I actually got out of work a little early and decided to run outside. The first half of the run was downhill (does that even really count?) and the second half was uphill. It was treacherous. On one hand, it was good because I felt the real sensation of “OH MY GOD MY LEGS WILL NOT MOVE ANOTHER INCH” as opposed to “Ugh, I just don’t feel like it. Wah.”

That was exciting, but there was a little bit of walking (even that was hard!) and it only totaled 1.2 miles. On Saturday I walked roughly 2 miles – more for the purpose of actually transporting myself somewhere than for exercise – and then got lazy.

Today? I ran 1.5 miles on the treadmill. 1.5! I stopped a couple times for a drink of water, but it was literally stopping and drinking and jumping right back on. It was SO much easier than I expected. I mean, it wasn’t even that difficult until the last .3 or so of a mile. And then? It just sort of sucked – it wasn’t like I was dying.

I’m pretty amazed by this. I still hate working out, but the sense of accomplishment is pretty awesome. My halfway goal is 3 miles (which is, of course, the goal of C25K, and I’m halfway there!) and my ultimate goal is to be able to run 6 miles. I anticipate that happening sometime around October or November, if I’ve calculated correctly.

I’m trying not to give up this time. Really.

3 thoughts on “run like the wind!

  1. I *hate* running. Really really. I’ve tried several times. When I lived next to Greenlake I was more motivated. I mean, running next to the lake was awesome. But I’m one of those people that needs fun workouts like biking or roller blading. Or aerial. 😉

    I admire your ability to run, I drop at like…3/4 of a miles. I think the best I’ve ever done is 2 miles.

  2. I was reading up on the couch to 5k plan and I kind of want to try it…it actually makes getting into running sound doable! How hard was it to get into it?

    • Honestly, not that hard. It’s funny because at first I was like “OMG, running for THREE MINUTES?!” and that was super daunting, but the longer I did it, the easier it got, and by the time I gave up I was able to run like 20 minutes straight. At first it’s a lot of walking with running mixed in, and gradually there’s more running and less walking. I did give up eventually but having done it made it a lot easier to pick the running back up when I decided to.

Leave a Reply

