resolutions?

I don’t really make New Year’s resolutions. I’m of the mindset that if you want to make a change, just freaking do it already – don’t wait for January 1st. Especially because most New Year’s resolutions totally fail, as my gym-rat friends point out (you know, the first of January rolls around and you can’t get a spot on the treadmill, but come March 1st the gym’s so empty you can hear a pin drop).

But hey, I’m human, and I like a goal-setting prompt as much as any other type-A person. So, here:

In 2011, I would like to…

Read more. I read 40 books in 2010, which did not meet my goal (50). This year I’m setting it at 50 again, even if half of them are crappy YA novels. So far, I’m at two, one of which is a crappy YA novel and the other was written by Tucker Max. I am clearly intellectual beyond belief.
Write more. I’m toying with the idea of keeping a paper journal again, just something for venting and rambling and jotting down quick things. Paper or no, I absolutely plan on blogging more. It’s hard because I lack creativity in a BAD way, and I also lack a blog “identity.” Like, really, what am I doing here? Am I writing about BRCA? Am I writing about dating a guy in the military, which is sort of irrelevant right now because he’s not deployed?  Am I just writing about my life (which is boring because of the aforementioned lack of creativity)? You see my conundrum.
Have less – way less – anxiety. This is obviously a lifelong resolution, but it really needs to start happening immediately.
Be healthier. This started before the new year; I realized I weigh more than I’d like and decided to do something about it (again). I’m on Weight Watchers again (and will write about that in more detail another day), but the most important thing for me is to exercise. See, I hate it. I hate it but I know it’s necessary, so my goal is a strength training class once or twice a week, and cardio two or three times a week. I’m doing okay so far! I also need to cook and eat at home more, but that’s… well, it’s not my favorite.

I think that’s really all I’ve got. I’m a simple girl.

What are your resolutions, if you make them?

2 thoughts on “resolutions?

  1. I don’t really do resolutions, but I have discovered that I am so much more eager to work out via classes (spin, yoga, zumba, etc.) than working out on my own. So I’m starting small, just doing yoga at my gym twice a week or so, plus 2 days of cardio and 1-2 strength training sessions.

    You inspired me to write a post about seriously easy, healthy dishes to make at home. I’m the queen of easy, but I usually don’t post my most simple recipes on the blog.

  2. I would love learning more easy recipes. I’m only recently getting more into cooking, as I mentioned, and I try to avoid anything that is difficult/takes a long time… so get posting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

