call in the reinforcements

Last night, I did a bad, bad thing. I started listening to Rocky Votolato and reading about BRCA. Now, it sounds innocuous enough – but adding mellow, somewhat heartbreaking music with confronting your own mortality, and… it’s not great.

Rather than go on about that (in short, I’ll say that I’ve come to terms with being BRCA2 positive, but there are still things that sneak up on me, like my greatly increased risk of pancreatic cancer, for which there is no cure and no prevention, and sometimes it’s all a little too much), I’m going to share with the masses some of my favorite BRCA blogs. Those of you with an interest in BRCA may find them interesting if you don’t follow them already, and all of you normal, non-mutated people may enjoy some of them as well.

Rachel @ losing the boobs
True story – Rachel’s is the first blog I found. If I recall correctly, I actually Googled “BRCA blog” the night before I got my results – in anticipation of what was to come, I guess. I was deeply dismayed at the lack of blogs I found when I Googled, but SO thankful to have found hers. And now, through the magical world of mutants, she’s one of my blog followers.

Steph @ Goodbye to Boobs
Steph’s blog is another one I found pretty early on. Her list of ten things previvors don’t want to hear was linked in someone else’s blog, and it was like a breath of freaking fresh air. FINALLY someone was saying what I was thinking, and in the way I was thinking it – slightly sarcastic, slightly irreverent, but with a lot of heart. And it’s because of Steph that I know Camille Grammer of Real Housewives of Orange County is BRCA positive; yes, this was a huge topic of conversation last time my mother and I got together because of our interest in not only all things BRCA but all things trash-TV. πŸ™‚

Claudia @ Previve
Claudia altered the course of my BRCA world. Early on, when I was having trouble finding many people near my age with this mutation, I stumbled upon a post from Claudia on Bright Pink’s Facebook page. I messaged her asking if we could chat, and she took the time to give me a call to go over everything. I don’t recall if we spoke before or after I started speaking with my Long-Lost Soulmate Bestie (also known as my BRCA twin), but her influence was almost as great. She’s just completed her PBM at 23 and her daily Facebook updates about her recovery give me hope.

Angela @ BRCAn’t Stop Me From Living
Angela is another person who was there in the very beginning. I found her in a Facebook community and again jumped at the chance to talk to someone around my age (this was before I found most of the BRCA blogs and before both Claudia and Long-Lost Soulmate Bestie). She had gotten her positive results a few months before and was heading toward surgery. Now she’s part of the “all-done club” and her blog continues to make me laugh. She’s another one who really keeps it real and manages to find the humor amidst all the suck.

Teri @ Teri’s Blip in the Universe
Teri has dedicated so much time and effort to the BRCA cause that it’s just amazing. She’s kept it real, talking about the times that suck and the times that make it all worthwhile (um, those would usually be every minute of every day that you don’t have cancer!). Her blog is incredibly educational and helpful, but with a personal bent that makes it feel like you’re having a coffee date with a friend.

Don’t get me wrong – these are only a few of the amazing women writing about “the breast cancer gene.” You can find the other BRCA blogs I follow in the right sidebar; any suggestions or links to others are much appreciated. As sad as I sometimes (still) get about being afflicted with these faulty genes, I’m so incredibly thankful for the people I’ve met – even though I may not be incredibly close with all of them, I know that on any occasion they’d take the time out to answer my questions, commiserate with me, or send pictures of their boobs.

No, seriously. They would – that’s how we mutants roll.

7 thoughts on “call in the reinforcements

  1. Hey! I got your comment, I’m glad you found me! Hope everything goes well and as you want in your journey. I am having a hard enough time waiting until April for surgery…much less 4-5 years. Good luck!

  2. hey ohhhhhh!

    love the shout out!

    i feel all tingly inside learning that i was the first blog you found and that i was able to help connect you with others. that is so friggin’ awesome. i can’t believe i showed up in google. i feel slightly famous now:)

    rach

  3. crazy, huh?! that’s the power of blogging for ya, i guess. πŸ™‚

    of course, i just tried to google “brca blog” again and see if i found you, and most of the searches are posts from other people from, like, 2008. at least it worked for me when it mattered! πŸ™‚

  4. Thanks for the shoutout! I’m so glad my top ten list resonated with you. I continue to be astonished by how many people I reached with that list. Keep on keeping on! XOXO, S

  5. hiya,

    I found your blog while reading Rachel’s. Great blog, I’ll now have something new to read while I recover from chemo tomorrow. Take care, and thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    • I always love new readers and I’m very glad I can entertain you during chemo recovery – I know that stuff isn’t fun! I’m going to add your blog to my Google Reader as well. πŸ™‚

  6. Thank you for mentioning my blog! ( Like a million years later I thank you, huh?) I am kind of slow at catching up on my blog reading and stuff…haha. I am glad that you reached out to me and that we are connected in a way and BRCA “sisters”. It’s sort of a bittersweet thing, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

