amanda knox and the questura

Watching Amanda Knox: Murder on Trial in Italy (click the link for a pretty entertaining re-cap) last night was rather intense. For as cheesy and Lifetime-y as it was, it hit close to home – not just because a piece of my heart is in Italy or because Amanda could’ve been me or any of my friends, but because of the damn interrogation scenes.

About thirty minutes in, they brought her in for questioning and I sent a text to my friend Andrea (my fellow Europe traveler and overseas-studier): She’s being questioned by the cops. It’s giving me flashbacks! It was good-natured (um, I don’t actually spend a lot of time freaking out about Italian police), but by the time it was midway through and she was in the questura being interrogated, it did freak me out a bit.

The thing is? I feel for the girl, I really do. And while I won’t spend a lot of time getting into my reasons for thinking she’s innocent, my recent polizia encounter in Rome gave me a very, very strong understanding of what it may have been like for her… and it must’ve been awful.

I wasn’t taken into custody for involvement in a murder case, falsely accusing my employer, or staging a break-in. But I was apprehended for being an illegal immigrant, and tomorrow I’ll tell how it happened.

In the meantime: are you familiar with the Amanda Knox case? Do you think she’s innocent, guilty, or something in between? What did you think of the Lifetime movie?

3 thoughts on “amanda knox and the questura

  1. Wow, I can’t wait to read about your story! That’s my fear when traveling abroad. I can easily see myself falling into that pit fall. Have you seen Brokendown palace? That movie is my fear, big time, but it never stopped me from traveling.

    I haven’t seen the lifetime movie yet, but I am kinda aware of Amanda Knox’s case. I don’t know if she is guilty or not, I don’t know who to believe. I would hate for a person not guilty of a crime going thru what she is going thru right now.

  2. Oooooh, you have me intrigued!

    I’m not sure how I feel about the case. I think she’s a messed up girl and got involved in some messed up s**t, and then lied about it. But I don’t think she’s a cold-blooded murderer.

  3. I haven’t been following the case that closely, but from what I do understand of it, I think it’s unlikely that she’s one hundred percent innocent. I also think it’s unlikely that she was the one who actually killed someone–but I do think she knows more than she’s letting on and/or was involved in the crime somehow.

Leave a Reply

