Ten on Tuesday

I didn’t do Ten on Tuesday last week because I didn’t think I had great answers to any of the questions… not that I necessarily do this week, either, but I’m doing it anyway. I have nothing much else to say at the moment; yesterday I visited with a plastic surgeon (just a consultation for future reference, not because I’m planning on actually having my surgery anytime soon), which was interesting. Then after work I had my final follow-up call for a research study I’m part of. This evening I’m supposed to talk to someone else for a different study, but I haven’t heard back from her since I emailed her to confirm, so that may not happen. It’s been quite the BRCA-filled week, which is fitting because tomorrow is March 30th, which is my one-year BRCAversary.

I also have vacation plans in the near future! M. and I are going to California (San Diego area) for a few days and I’m looking forward to it. More on that later. On to this weeks questions!

(Thanks to Chelsea over at Roots and Rings.)

1. What is a food that you never thought you would try, but then tried and liked? Steak. I’d eaten it before but then when I realized meat creeps me out, I stopped bothering with steak and most other red meats. When I went to visit M. in Texas a year ago (when he was living there), we went to a fancy steak restaurant and I decided to be brave and try it. And I actually really liked it. Yes, I’m the annoying, class-less person asking for her steak well-done, but hey, to each their own!

2. Do you subscribe to any foodie publications? If so, which ones? I don’t really know what counts as a “foodie publication” but I have a subscription to Food Network magazine. I’m guessing that doesn’t count, but hey, it’s food! I like stealing my mom’s Cooking Light as well.

3. What ingredient do you find yourself reaching for the most when you cook? I think to answer this I’d have to, like, actually cook. With actual ingredients.

4. Are there any foods that you hated as a child, but then learned to like as an adult? Tomatoes! And boy howdy, do I love them now. Also guacamole (and avocado itself), artichokes, spinach, and probably quite a few other things. I was an incredibly picky eater. I still hate onions and peppers, though, and that’s never going to change.

5. What do you like to eat that others may consider weird? I don’t have any really weird food habits. I love vinegar, so I’m a fan of anything with that flavor (including salt & vinegar potato chips, which I guess some people find weird). I love Indian food and I know a lot of people who can’t stand it, although I don’t know if “weird” is the word they’d really use (more just “not their thing”). And I like tofu – not plain, necessarily, but in pad thai and pho.

6. What is the weirdest ingredient you’ve ever cooked with? See my answer to #3.

7. Do you have any major food allergies? I do not, thank goodness.

8. Is there an ingredient that you would like to cook with, but are intimidated to try? Um, actual meals? Ha, not really. I know I can cook and I generally don’t totally hate it (although I am lazy), but it’s SO hard to cook for one. I only see M. on the weekends and I just can’t get myself to bother cooking elaborate dishes just for me, especially after a long day.

9. Do you bake? You know, I never did… I always thought it would be too difficult. And then I made cookies! I haven’t baked anything since then but hey, if you have any easy recipes to recommend, I’d love to bake something else one of these days!

10. If you could go on any “foodie” show to compete, which one would it be, and why? I have no idea… I’d probably totally fail at this point, so whichever one is easiest to NOT fail at!

One thought on “Ten on Tuesday

Leave a Reply

