Tuesday!

Yes, it’s that time of the week again. This week’s questions are about a topic I know well… dating. Thanks to Chelsea @ Roots & Rings for hosting.

1. What is your best date idea? I don’t even know. When I say dating is a topic I know well, I think I mean the actual interpersonal engagement part… not the actual going-on-dates part. I’ve been on very few actual dates, and almost all of them have just been dinner or drinks.

2. How long does it take you to get ready to go on a date? Not much longer than it takes to get ready to go anywhere else. I’m somewhat low-maintenance. As long as I’m wearing something cute, my hair isn’t a total mess, and my makeup looks good, I’m ready to go.

3. What would you wear on the date? I’ve never really had “date clothes” or anything. I tend to have specific items that make me feel attractive, so usually one of those.

4. If you are married, how often do you go on dates? If you are single, when was your last date? I’m not single OR married, but in my relationship, we go on dates… every so often. It depends what you’d consider a date; I don’t necessarily think walking up the street to get pizza on a Thursday night constitutes a date, but our trip to a comedy club this past weekend probably does. Nowadays we really only see each other on the weekends, and sometimes they’re full of other people (birthday parties, families, friends) and other times we go on dates, just the two of us.

5. What was your worst date? I’ve actually never really had a bad date. I was always pretty awkward on first dates, but it was never a big deal and I can’t think of any date that was really unpleasant or anything.

6. Do you/Did you kiss on your first date? Haha… I always went back and forth on this. The short answer is yes, but I went through a phase the summer after I graduated from college. I’d been seeing someone – and still was, off-and-on – who was kind of breaking my heart, so I decided I had to turn over a new leaf and stop being so available to guys. I went on a couple dates with this one guy (who I picked up at a beer festival with the help of my gay-BFF-who-no-longer-speaks-to-me, but that’s all a whole ‘nother story), and when he asked if I kiss on the first date, I said no, and then awkwardly offered up, “But you can have a hug!” That went about as well as you can imagine. I win dating.

7. If married, how long before you knew he/she was the one? If single, how long before you know if the person is marriage material? I don’t think I have a set amount of time before I know if I want to marry someone. Part of it has been the absence of knowing I don’t want to marry them. I used to always, always freak out about whether my boyfriend at the time was “The One.” I figured that if he was, I should know, and since I didn’t know, it was time to Freak Out! With M., I realized there was a very great possibility he was the one about a week after we started hanging out, and it’s kind of a good story (uh, to me) which I think I will turn into a blog post.

8. Do you prefer day dates or night dates? Is it bad that I always preferred night because then there could be drinking involved? I’m so much less awkward around a new person if I’ve had a drink or two.

9. How old were you when you first were allowed to date? I remember my mom saying I couldn’t date until I was sixteen, but then I had my first real boyfriend at fourteen and everyone was okay with that. He was eighteen. I was a freshman, he was a senior, and looking back that’s all a little creepy.

10. What is the most embarrassing moment you have had on a date? I can’t think of anything! If anything embarrassing ever happened, I probably blocked it out of my mind.

Leave a Reply

