becoming a runner (again)

I gave up on Couch to 5k when I got shin splints, but I’ve been itching to start running again. I really cannot tell you why I have this fixation with running, but it’s something I’ve wanted to do for years. I have it in my head that I absolutely must be a runner, and I won’t totally give up until it happens.

So on May 5th, I officially decided to run a 5k. In a month. Yep, you read that right. It’ll probably kill me, but my mom and I are doing the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure on June 5th. We did it last year and I’d planned to run, but then I came down with the cold from hell and we decided to walk so I didn’t totally fall apart.

This year, I’m going all out and running. The verdict is still out on whether my mother, who probably hasn’t run since high school (but walks 3-4 miles a day), will actually be running with me or not. I’ve thrown out the entire Couch to 5k plan and am doing it my own way, which consists of trying to force myself to run three miles on the treadmill every day.

It also involves a teeny tiny shadow of shin splints trying to rear their ugly head, so here I sit after an 8:30pm run, icing my legs with a frozen bag of vegetables. Clearly, I’m well-prepared for this running undertaking. I think that I probably need new running shoes and/or feet that aren’t flat.

I have about three and a half weeks to get to a point where I can run 3.1 miles on the actual ground, not a treadmill. I’m determined to at least give it my best shot, and I’ve already gotten to 75% of my fundraising goal (yes, I only committed to $100, but still! I do have generous friends).

If you’re a runner, feel free to share any suggestions for getting better at this whole running thing. I’ll need all the help I can get!

One thought on “becoming a runner (again)

  1. You don’t need to start at 30 minutes right away – you have a whole month! I’d say start at around 15 minutes and then add 5 minutes on every couple of runs. When I trained for the 10k, I started at 30 minutes and then just kept adding on, and that worked for me. Plus, that way you don’t overdo it – you want to have enough energy on race day!

    Also, don’t worry too much about speed right now. If you feel tired, just slow your pace down until you’ve gotten some energy back – it’s not a sprint!

Leave a Reply

