2012 Blog Resolutions

I don’t really make New Year’s resolutions, but the closer we get to the new year, the more I realize there are a few changes I’d like to make here on this blog, so I figured I may as well create some goals for the year. Any suggestions are welcome, but here’s what I’ve got so far:

Get more followers and be more involved.
I see people mention that they get thousands of hits a day. I get, like, three. I’d love to change that. I also want to reach out to other bloggers more. It’s hard when you’re shy and socially awkward – what do you say? How do you avoid being creepy? – but it’s something I have to work on.

Be more open.
Along with that, I’d like to be more open. Maybe share this blog with people I know or post it on Twitter or at least acknowledge to the world at large that I’m a blogger.

Figure out what the hell I’m doing here.
I started blogging because I want to write. The problem is, when I write, it comes across very serious and not necessarily in a good way. But I’m not funny, so I can’t really be one of those humorous bloggers we all love to read, and that makes it more difficult to just be a blogger who writes about what I do every day. I need to get to the bottom of this and figure out who exactly I want to be. And of course, I also need to keep it safe for whoever in the world might stumble across it: parents, coworkers, friends, etc.

Implement some kind of theme.
I’ve really been playing with the idea of Music Monday or something like that. Maybe 2012 is the time to actually get on it?

Buy eatthissoup.com.
I sort of want to hit the rest of these goals first. This can be my reward. Of course, I don’t really know how to go about this so I also need to figure that out.

I’ve proven to myself that I can have a blog and sort of keep up with it, so it’s going to be my project over the next year to make it bigger and better. Hope to have you along for the journey!

2 thoughts on “2012 Blog Resolutions

Leave a Reply

