hello, 2012!

I know, I’m obviously late because it’s now been 2012 for a whole day. However, I spent yesterday being lazy beyond belief (even though my New Year’s Eve wasn’t that crazy) and never had a chance to post. I’m ready to ring in the new year, though, and I have big plans for 2012. Plans other than, you know, the end of the world. I don’t make resolutions, necessarily, but I do have a few things I hope to accomplish along with the events I’m already expecting.

In 2012, I’m going to…

Read 50 Books. I say this every year, and most years I accomplish it. This year I capped out at forty because I went through a bit of a lull with reading. I love to read and I’m looking forward to finding more books to love.

Get healthy. I want to lose weight, yes, but I’d also like to learn to live a healthier lifestyle. I wasn’t really raised to exercise or eat right and it’s still a huge challenge for me. I like to be comfortable and would rather eat comfort foods and sit around in pajamas than cook up a healthy meal and hit the gym. I know I don’t make the healthiest choices and that’s something I need to work on. Ideally, I’d love to lose 10-15 pounds but we’ll see.

Kick ass at work. I start my new job tomorrow, which is both exciting and nerve-wracking. I’m looking forward to it and I’m really pleased how well everything worked out, but it still makes me a little anxious. Who likes being new and wondering where the bathroom is or what time people take lunch or if people even leave for lunch? There are a lot of little things you don’t know when you start a new job and that freaks me out. However, I’m excited to get started and hit the ground running.

Survive a deployment. Not my own, of course. The boyfriend’s. I realized yesterday that it’s actually happening this year and that it’s going to come sooner than I think. I don’t want to say much more on the topic because I don’t want to violate any super-secret military confidentiality or anything, but… it’s happening.

Continue learning to be a good friend. That sounds weird, but I’m learning that being a good friend is a lifelong process, at least for me. Maybe it’s because I’m inherently selfish. At any rate, I’m always working on learning what it means to be a good friend, whether it’s seeking out the perfect birthday gift, being available for a crisis, or just showing up.

2011 was a great year, but I’m definitely ready for 2012 and excited to see what it has in store. I hope you are, too!

Leave a Reply

