five things on a Friday

Happy Friday!

And yep, in the interest of getting myself to actually post, I’m being boring and doing a list. Deal.

1. I am seriously obsessed with job hunting/resumes/cover letters. Like… beyond the scope of my job, because obviously I deal with those things since I screen candidates all day, but I’m obsessed with doing them for other people. I want to create resumes for people and edit their cover letters and teach them how to interview. I need to figure out exactly what I have to learn and how to market it and make it happen.

2. I am 26 years, 8 months, and 14 days old. I learned that today thanks to our new HR system at work. ALSO, this is mind-blowing (for me): today is the day my first high school boyfriend broke up with me. February 10th, 2000. That was TWELVE YEARS AGO. I can’t even.

3. Is it just me or is EVERYONE PREGNANT? As I was telling my mom last night, I truly don’t feel old enough for everyone I know to be having children. That sounds so… adult. And it weirds me out.

4. This is pretty much the last month I have with my boyfriend actually living in the same state as me. I’m not okay with this. I am, however, okay with the idea that this is the final deployment and almost the end of his military career. THANK YOU BABY JESUS.

5. Gay marriage is almost legal in Washington state. I love living somewhere that actually values equality. Enough said.

4 thoughts on “five things on a Friday

  1. Have you thought of getting in touch withMy someone who does resumes & career advice to see if they’d be willing to give you some advice or mentoring? Job Jenny and others like her may be willing to help. I read a post by Jenny about mentoring a couple months ago I think?

    My first serious boyfriend broke up with me in Feb 2000 sometime, which makes me think of the monumentally bad decision I made 2 months from this date in 2000. Yikes.

    I will be 28 in exactly one month, on March 10th. Today my brother turned 26. It’s word how many things in my life happen on the 10th day of the month.

    There are a lot of pregnant people but I’m mostly finding friend are getting married our engaged. It’s weird cause I’m used to being the only married one. Spent mean I’m not happy for them, I’m crazy happy for a few of them & regular happy for others. It’s just strange.

    I’m sorry that your boyfriend will be living in another state. 😦 How far away will he be? My sister & her (girlfriend? Life partner? I don’t know what they call each other but that didn’t mean I’m anti-Them just not told these things?) Are separated by an ocean. She’s stationed in Germany & her girlfriend is in NC. It’s tough but she’s looking forward to getting back next year.

  2. Hooray for Washington! So proud of my home state. I don’t think Illinois (where I live now) is that far behind, but still.

    Re: #1, I taught a class on employment interviewing in grad school and loved it, and I’ve been trying to get back into it ever since. I wasn’t able to find any place I could volunteer (because all the job coaching hours are during the day while I’m at work), so I’m striking out on my own. I’ve written up an outline for several coaching packages, and I’m going to e-mail my friends and family and say that I’m looking to take on some free clients in exchange for giving me feedback and serving as references. I’ve already built up a reputation among my friends and family by reviewing people’s resumes for free, so they trust the quality of my work. It’s definitely possible! Good luck!

    • That’s a really good idea. I’ve thought of doing something similar, but I guess I’m still too afraid to fail or have people think I’m crazy or something. I’m excited to see how it goes for you!

Leave a Reply

