Music Monday, volume 1

That’s right, friends. Music Monday is here. I’m not going to do this weekly because I’d very quickly run out of things to post, but it seems fair that because it’s the week of Valentine’s Day, a good start to Music Monday would be my favorite love songs. I have a pretty weird idea of what constitutes a “love” song so most of these aren’t very traditional. And I wouldn’t be surprised if other people interpreted some of these as, well, definitely not love songs.

M. Ward – Poison Cup

Oh, this song. I can’t even. It is the kind of song I would want to be played at my wedding, but it has such a cynical bent to it that I don’t think I could get away with it.


she said if love, if love is a poison cup, then drink it up. cause a sip, a sip, or a spoonful won’t do, won’t do nothing for you, ‘cept mess you up, and i hope, i hope, hope you know what this means. i’ma give you everything. i’ma give you everything.

Rocky Votolato – Crabtree & Evelyn

Um, apparently Youtube doesn’t have a video with the actual song, so you get this dude’s cover instead of the original.


trying to make sense of how two of the darkest lives came together to give this world light

Further Seems Forever – New Year’s Project

This was my emo seventeen-year-old self’s favorite lovesong. I’ve gotten over being seventeen but I still find it heartbreaking in all the best ways.


it seemed like the bottom was all that i had until now. i’d give you my life if you’d give me yours somehow

Jonah Matranga/onelinedrawing – Jul00/Never Run (?)

I don’t know the real title of this song but I discovered it in college and fell in love.


i won’t break, i will wait, i won’t hide, i will stay, i’ll never run away, When i’m sick i will try, when you’re scared i will smile, i’ll never run away

The xx – Islands

A friend put this on a mix CD for me right around the time I started dating M. I found it pretty fitting for the current situation, for suddenly discovering that commitment was maybe not the scariest thing in the world. Apparently there is debate about what this song is really “about,” but I’m going with my original interpretation.


i am yours now, so now i don’t ever have to leave. i’ve been found out, so now i’ll never explore.

Ben Harper – Forever

This is a serious contender for Future Wedding Song, if such a thing ever happens.


not talkin’ ’bout a year, no not three or four. i don’t want that kind of forever in my life anymore. forever always seems to be around when it begins but forever never seems to be around when it ends. so give me your forever. please your forever. not a day less will do from you.

Stars – My Favourite Book


and i never knew a home until i found your hands

Paul McCartney – Calico Skies


it was written that i would love you from the moment i opened my eyes[…] i will hold you for as long as you like. i’ll hold you for the rest of my life.

One thought on “Music Monday, volume 1

  1. Pingback: Ten on Tuesday « either eat this soup or jump out of this window

Leave a Reply

