My Travel ABCs

I stole this from Gina. It makes me wish I had exciting travel plans coming up… perhaps it’s time to make some?

A – Age you went on your first international trip:

Twenty-one. I was studying abroad for college. Technically, I’d been to Canada and Mexico before that, but I don’t necessarily count those as international.

B – Best (foreign) beer you’ve had and where:

Belgian Lambic straight from the source in Brussels. My friend and I did a tasting and tour at a brewery and it was amazing.

C – Cuisine (favorite):

Oh, Italian, hands down.

D – Destinations – favorite, least favorite, and why:

My favorite destinations are largely outside the U.S. Most places I’ve gone within the U.S. are sort of weird (Ohio; El Paso, TX; Grand Rapids, MI; etc.). I’ve loved everywhere I’ve gone in Europe, with Rome and Paris coming in at the top. I love the culture and the history and just everything. Least favorite? I don’t know – I’ve been to boring U.S. cities but always for a good reason, like visiting family or friends, so I can’t hate too much.

E – Event you experienced abroad that made you say “wow”:

Probably experiencing all the ruins in Italy. You could be walking down the street – or even taking a bus through the countryside – and suddenly see centuries-old ruins just hanging out. It’s incredible.

F – Favorite mode of transportation:

It depends where I am. Flying freaks me the hell out, though.

G – Greatest feeling while traveling:

Getting out and exploring, experiencing a new place and learning what life and the culture are like there.

H – Hottest place you’ve traveled to:

I guess Texas during the summer.

I – Incredible service you’ve experienced and where:

Nothing really stands out in my mind. I know that there were a few places in Italy where the servers were just amazing and so friendly but it wasn’t the same all across the board.

J – Journey that took the longest:

Trying to get from Dublin, Ireland back to Rome. It should have been a few hours; it ended up being over 24 because we were snowed in and stuck in the airport overnight.

K – Keepsakes from your travels:

I actually don’t have anything too special. I was limited on space both times I traveled abroad so I tried not to buy too much.

L – Let-down sight, why and where:

Dublin in general. I was so excited to go, but it snowed so much that we couldn’t do anything. We made it to the Guinness Storehouse and that was it.

M – Moment where you fell in love with travel:

The minute I walked out of the airport the first time I landed in Italy.

N – Nicest hotel you’ve stayed in:

I have no idea. I don’t know that I’ve ever really stayed in a hotel you’d refer to as “nice” because I’m cheap.

O – Obsession – what are you obsessed with taking pictures of while traveling and why:

Old things – ruins, historical buildings, etc.

P – Passport stamps – how many and where from:

I feel like somehow I’m lacking stamps from some of the places I’ve been, probably because some were from one EU country to another. But let’s pretend my passport has all the countries. It would include Italy, France, Germany (just the airport, sadly), Belgium, England/U.K., and Ireland.

Q – Quirkiest attraction you’ve visited and where:

I actually don’t know. I did enjoy the crazy Dali paintings, though.

R – Recommended sight, event, or experience:

Everything. Some of the most fascinating to me were the Catacombs in Paris and the Basilica di San Clemente in Rome. I also really loved the Forum and the Palatine Hill in Rome. The Jack the Ripper walking tour in London was pretty interesting, too.

S – Splurge – something you have no problem forking over money for while traveling:

Food!

T – Touristy thing you’ve done:

Probably taking a lot of pictures. I try not to be too obnoxious otherwise.

U – Unforgettable travel memory:

Going back to Europe as an adult in 2010 after studying in 2007. Also, being apprehended by the Italian cops.

V – Visas – how many and for where:

Ha, speaking of the Italian cops! I don’t have any visas now but I had a student visa in 2007. And it caused the cops to come after me in 2010 because for some reason they thought I was pretending to still have it.

W – Wine – best glass of wine while traveling and where:

I have no idea but I’m sure it was in Italy. We also had some good wine at a wine tasting we did in Paris.

X – eXcellent view and from where:

The view from the Duomo in Florence is awesome. You just have to climb a billion stairs to get there.

Y – Years spent traveling:

Nowhere near enough yet!

Z – Zealous sports fans and where:

They’re pretty into soccer (sorry, football) over in Europe.

One thought on “My Travel ABCs

Leave a Reply

