losing weight sucks

Someone – possibly multiple someones – recently found my blog by searching “losing weight sucks.” Yep, it does. I’m the first to admit that.

As you know, I signed up for the Ten Pound Challenge a month ago. And since then, I’ve lost… no weight. Yep.

I have been trying, which is the most frustrating thing. The first week was iffy, then I went to Vegas and thought I lost a pound by walking everywhere and not snacking, which gave me a lot of encouragement. Since I’ve been back, I’ve been on Weight Watchers. I will admit I have not done perfectly; sometimes I went just over my points for the week, which is obviously bad. But you would think that since I’m still eating so much less than usual – and since they just lowered my points from a higher amount on which I previously lost weight – I’d have some success. And I haven’t. I thought it might be water weight and then I thought it might be due to the time of the month (sometimes being a girl really sucks) but so far, no change.

My boyfriend has asked a couple times if I’ve lost weight, but I can’t help but think he just says it to make me feel good. My mom commented on it as well, asking last time I saw her if I’ve lost a few pounds. I was wearing loose pants, though, so that may have been the reason. I don’t feel like my body is any different and it is really discouraging.

If I would stay the same weight by eating like I normally do and I’ll stay the same weight by eating less, then why would I stress myself out by dieting? If it’s not going to make a difference, why bother? I’m proud of myself for not just giving in and gorging on everything in the world, but I’m also not very motivated to try anymore. I can’t get motivated to exercise because I’m busy and I’m tired and I don’t want to be sweaty, and if nothing seems to make a difference anyway, what is the point?

I’m just being real. I don’t know why I’m not losing weight and I don’t know what I’m going to do about it, if anything. I don’t want to seem like a negative Nancy, but the fact is? Losing weight does suck. So whoever out there is finding my blog when searching that term – I’m right there with you.

The good news? I took my measurements the other day and while I do not fit the standards for the “ideal” woman (24-inch waist? really?), I do pass the U.S. Army standards for healthy body fat percentage and height/weight ratio. That counts for something, I guess!

4 thoughts on “losing weight sucks

  1. I understand how you feel! I can cut out the snacking and beer, drink water until I’m peeing every hour, walk my butt off, and nothing happens. My husband cuts out the same stuff because he’s out in the wood on an army exercise and the weight drops! Then he eats chips!

    I want to have a baby within the next year, so I’m trying to use that as motivation to get toned and drop about 10lbs, because I know that will come right back on with a pregnancy.

  2. I’ve had to accept that it’s not enough for me to just cut calories and eat better, and it’s not enough for me to just exercise – I have to do both, and stay on top of it. It does get really frustrating, because a lot of the time it feels like if I let up on tracking my calories or working out for even a couple of days, I regain whatever two pounds I just lost. Good luck girl!

  3. This may not be what you want to hear, but you may be at your stable weight (especially if you’re at a technically healthy weight). The 24 inch waist thing is total bs. I’m 5’2 and that’s my waist measurement which is only because I’m underweight due to an ED.

    That said, good luck with your endeavors. Be really proud for having such commitment and discipline!

Leave a Reply

