Ten on Tuesday

I have a ton of things I want to write about but I don’t think anyone wants to read about my existential crises and the fact that I’m not good at anything and it makes me sad. I mean, really, I should’ve gotten over this at seventeen and I don’t know why I’m latching onto it so hard lately.

So, instead, I’m getting all meme-y up in here and doing Ten on Tuesday for the first time in awhile, courtesy of Chelsea at Roots & Rings. This week’s questions are about the 90s!

1. Which boy band was your favorite and your favorite song?
So let’s be real here. I was actually never into boy bands – weird, right? When I started listening to music in the mid-90s I was all about alternative (or what I thought was “alternative” at the time) and then briefly had a thing for Hanson & The Spice Girls before moving onto more emo adventures.

2. Your favorite spice girl?
If I recall correctly, I preferred “Baby Spice,” although I have no idea why.

3. Did you ever try the orbit drink?
Not even sure what that is.

4. What brand of clothing were you in to?
I was never really into brands because my parents wouldn’t buy them for me. I was jealous of friends who had Nike clothes/shoes in sixth grade. When I moved to WA, Abercrombie & Fitch was a big deal and you were judged if you didn’t wear it… which I didn’t.

5. Did you watch TGIF?
Yes!

6. What news story in the 90′s do you recall?
Was the crash of Flight 800 in the 90s? It was, right? That hit me pretty hard for some reason (precursor to my fear of flying?!). The Clinton scandal was big, too.

7. List which you think had the best talent. Jessica Simpson, Mandy Moore, Brittney Spears, and Christina Aguilera.
Definitely not Britney because I never thought she could sing. Probably in terms of actual vocal talent, I’d have to go with Christina.

8. Did Marilyn Manson creep you out?
Um, YES.

9. Who was your BFF?
The first few years, my BFF was my neighbor Darcy. When I moved schools, my BFF was Jennifer and then Sara. Then, when I moved to Washington in 1997, my BFF was my current BFF, J. We’re going on 15 years now.

10. A picture of you in the 90′s.
I don’t have a good one on hand, and if I did… I probably wouldn’t share because I’m pretty sure it would be awful. I spent most of the 90s going through my Awkward Stage.

Leave a Reply

