running update

My second Couch to 5K class was last Thursday. I went in expecting a one-mile run, not sure how I would handle it. Instead, I was treated to a 1.5 mile run, which I completed without stopping – and without feeling like I was going to die! It helped not knowing exactly how long we were running until we’d completed it; we were told to run to a certain landmark and back instead of a certain distance.

I was really surprised how good I felt. It wasn’t easy, exactly, but I’m used to running making me feel like I’ll keel over immediately. I’m used to having to stop, then being unable to get started again. I really do so much better when I’m with other people. It’s not just a competitive thing, although that’s part of it. I don’t want to seem like I’m not trying, so I push myself. It’s also the distraction – running with a friend and talking both keeps me entertained and keeps me going slowly enough that I don’t want to kill myself.

Although 1.5 miles isn’t exactly a marathon, it’s the longest I’ve gone outdoors (as opposed to a treadmill) without stopping. And it felt amazing to accomplish that small feat.

So far, I haven’t had any of my good old shin splint issues. I know my shoes are old (I bought them in March 2010, and although I haven’t exactly been a regular runner, I’ve used them for walking and zumba and all sorts of things) so I made the decision to buy some new running shoes. I’m pretty excited about them; they’re essentially the same shoe, but the newer version and obviously brand new and not worn down. My overpronating feet and flat arches and shorter right leg will thank me.

I’m missing next week’s class as I’ll be out of town, but I’m going to try and do 2 miles on my own sometime in the next week. It will be a challenge to keep myself motivated if I’m alone, but I know I’m physically capable. I just hope I’m mentally capable, too.

One thought on “running update

  1. Awesome! Congrats on getting farther than you thought, feels great doesn’t it? New shoes make ALL of the difference, so here’s hoping you can find the perfect ones for you!

Leave a Reply

