’twas the night before surgery…

Well, here it is. The night before surgery. It’s proof that you just never know what life will bring; I expected to be terrified and a mess, and instead I’m… excited? Yeah, seriously – I’m just as surprised as you are.

I hoped I would have some amazing wisdom to impart, some life-changing words or observations. I really don’t. I don’t know if I would say I feel particularly strong or brave but I do feel a little kickass. I’m doing something hard and scary and that most people wouldn’t do, and I’m doing it… well, I don’t know that happily is the word, but I’m doing it.

There’s a lot that could go wrong and that does scare me. However, I’m trying not to dwell on it; while I don’t necessarily buy into “the power of positive thinking” and whatnot, it certainly doesn’t hurt to try and think as positively as possible and hope for the best.

I have a lot of people thinking good thoughts for me and sending me good wishes. I’ve done all the preparation I can possibly do and now it’s time to get this done.

Here’s hoping for a smooth surgery and a quick and easy recovery. Catch y’all on the flip side!

2 thoughts on “’twas the night before surgery…

Leave a Reply

